This exemption is available to any property owner who is a permanent resident of the state of Florida and a Veteran. Veterans entitled to this exemption must submit a letter from the Veterans Administration (Letter #27-125) stating that they have a permanent disability to a degree of 10% or more. The spouse of a deceased honorably discharged Veteran who was married for a minimum of 5 years is also eligible for this exemption. This letter can be obtained by contacting the Department of Veterans Affairs at (800) 827-1000 and requesting the form letter listed above.
A veteran who was honorably discharged from the armed forces and who sustained a "service-connected total and permanent disability" can qualify for exemption from all ad valorem taxes on his or her homesteaded property.
To qualify, the veteran must:
A veteran applying for the first time must file a Homestead Exemption Application by March 1 and include a letter, (VA form 27-333), from the Veteran’s Administration (VA) certifying a Service Connected Total and Permanent disability.
The un-remarried surviving spouse of a service member who qualified for this exemption, and who owns and permanently resides on the homestead property, may continue to receive the benefit of this exemption.
The un-remarried surviving spouse of a service member who died in the line of duty and was a resident of Florida on January 1 of the year he or she died, and who owns and permanently resides on the homestead property, may claim this benefit on their homestead property.
It is very important to know: According to the Florida Department of Veterans Affairs, a veteran should request a "FLORIDA HOMESTEAD LETTER", VAFL-27333 from the Veterans Administration and present that letter to the Property Appraiser to verify their status as totally and permanently disabled and the date as of which that status was granted. This letter may be obtained by contacting the Department of Veterans Affairs at (800) 827-1000.
This exemption is available to any honorably discharged veteran who is at least 65 years old and is deemed to be totally and permanently disabled to a degree of 10% or more. All or a portion of such disability must have been combat related. The veteran must own and occupy property in Sarasota County as their permanent residence as of January 1st of the year for which the exemption is being filed.
Veterans who qualify may receive a percentage (%) discount on Homestead property taxes equal to the percentage of the Veteran’s permanent service connected disability as determined by the Department of Veterans Affairs at (800) 827-1000.
This exemption is also called the "Fallen Heroes Family Tax Relief Act" and is available to the surviving spouse of a military veteran who died from service-connected causes while on active duty as a member of the U.S. force, and, to a surviving spouse of a first responder (law enforcement officer, correctional officer, firefighter, emergency medical technician or paramedic employed by the state or any political subdivision of the state) who died in the line of duty. Amendment 9 under Art. V, § 6(f), Fla. Const., applies to the 2013 tax roll and is not retroactive to prior years.
The surviving spouse must qualify for homestead and must have been a permanent resident of Florida on January 1 of the year in which the death occurred. The spouse must provide a letter from the veteran's or first responder's employer certifying that the person died in the line of duty.
If the spouse remarries the exemption is removed.